Just Call Me Is

Middle Grade Introduction to Mindfulness – published December, 2016

Now more than ever, future generations need tools to help them practice loving kindness, mindfulness, and acceptance. They’re not getting them in the media, and they’re certainly not getting them in schools.

This book will introduce children to concepts that we, as adults, are becoming more and more familiar with. Things like meditation, presence, gratitude – all, of course, by way of a relatable (and, sure, somewhat snarky) guide, the reader’s Inner Self (Is).

It is a story, it is a journal, it is a book of exercises and tools, and most of all, it is a guide to living in presence for young people.

Call Me Perfect

Middle Grade and Young Adult Book on Body Love – published August, 2017

Here we have something magical: A journal written to you from your Inner Self (or Is!) Just like its companion book, Just Call Me Is: An Introduction to Mindfulness, Is will tell the tale of a kid like you—who just like you might be, was struggling with body image. From there, you’ll be guided through exercises, journal pages, games, and a whole lot more to get connected with and accepting of your body. You might even fall in love.

 

The Fantastic Fable of Peter Able

Fantasy/Humor – published 2015

The Fantastic Fable of Peter Able is a fantasy novel–with a twist. You see, Peter is a Boy Wizard. But wait! Before you move on to the next story, or decide now might be a good time to throw in the towel on this whole “reading” thing, let me clarify. Peter is an adult Boy Wizard who lives in the land of Fiction. His Real World author has abruptly concluded his series, and Peter is suddenly free to explore his world, liberated from the almighty Plotline. Of course the transition into free will isn’t exactly an easy one, and there are plenty of Twists and Turns to keep our Protagonist guessing along the way. After all, this is Fiction.

In the vein of authors like Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett, this book will delight fans, not just of fantasy, but of literature in general. There are plenty of familiar faces from Fiction appearing throughout, as well as many new ones, like Peter, the charming Randy, and a ficus tree named Bob–who, let’s be honest, doesn’t really have a face.

order_amazon

The Timeless Tale of Peter Able

Fantasy/Humor – published December, 2016

In book 2 of the best-selling humor/fantasy Peter Able series, the story picks up just where we left off—give or take a few blurry months for our characters while the author did other things. You see, Peter lives in the land of Fiction itself. In this uproarious sequel, you’ll see old faces and new; you’ll meet a villain far more horrifying than that other guy (seriously, DON’T say his name); and you may even fall in love, as you journey into this world beyond the page.

& Book Three – coming 2017

The Woods

Young Adult Contemporary Fantasy – published 2016

The story begins and ends in a small town in Maine, but within the pages, the characters travel far beyond the mundane. Jack Nielson and his best friend, Lydia, have just reunited after years of separation on their winter break from college. For old times’ sake, the two decide to partake in a bit of “innocent” fun: practicing magic in the local forest, of course. As readers will see, there was nothing innocent about their magic—not then, and not now.

order_amazon

Matthew Templeton and the Enchanted Journal

Middle Grade Fantasy – published 2016

On his thirteenth birthday, Matthew Templeton receives a journal from an elderly librarian. To the birthday boy, it’s as about as exciting a gift as a pair of socks. But this book is from Del, a magical world, and the librarian confides that it will grant any wish Matthew writes in it.

Sort of. The journal has a sense of humor. The elderly librarian is not what she seems, either.

When a gang of four-armed monsters called wergs, sent by an enchanter to retrieve the book, descend on Matthew’s street, he and his friends must escape to the world of Del (if you can call their fire-to-frying-pan trip an escape). There, they embark on a riotous, never predictable quest filled with wacky magical creatures, woods that wander, a princess who might be a chihuahua (or vice-versa), sorcerers and, of course, much more.

order_amazon